Public Service

Elaine Bland Baxter (Βeta Αlpha-Illinois) 

Iowa secretary of state (1987-94). Former member of the Iowa House of Representatives for three terms. Appointed to Humanities Iowa board of directors by Iowa Gov. Thomas Vilsack.


Nancy Osborn Brataas (Εpsilon-Minnesota) 
Retired Minnesota state senator (1975-92). The first woman senator in Minnesota history to be elected in her own right. Minority chairperson of the Senate employment committee (1978-92). President/owner of Nancy Brataas Associates, Inc..


Becky Cook Cain (Βeta Ιota-West Virginia) 
Past national president of the League of Women Voters (1992-98). President and CEO of the Greater Kanawha Valley Community Foundation (see Fall 2001 
Quarterly). Named one of the most powerful women in politics in Ladies' Home Journal (1996). Worked to achieve campaign finance reform in Congress as the president of Campaign for America.


Marjorie "Bunny" Lawrence Clement (Βeta Gamma-Colorado) 
Jefferson County, Colo., commissioner (1981-93). Appointed to succeed her late husband and re-elected for three terms.


Annemarie Conroy (Lambda-UC/Berkeley) 
Youngest member to sit on San Francisco's board of supervisors (1992). Executive director of Treasure Island Development Authority, San Francisco. Current Emergency Services executive director, San Francisco.


Mary Prior Dambman (Gamma Theta-Colorado College) 
Former Colorado state representative.


Georgia Neese Gray (Upsilon-Washburn) 
First woman treasurer of the United States (1949-53), appointed by President Harry Truman. Past president of Alpha Phi International.


Pauline Kubala Gubbels (Omega-Texas) 
First female president of the Albuquerque City Council (1989), former New Mexico state representative (1994), president of the National Order of Women Legislators, president of the Albuquerque Rotary Charitable Foundation and winner of an Alpha Phi Ursa Major Award (1988).


Nannette Hegerty (Delta Psi-Wisconsin/Oshkosh) 
First female chief of the Milwaukee, Wis., police department.

Charlene Prince Lawrence (Βeta Βeta-Michigan State) 
First female captain of the Indianapolis police department (1985-97).


Charlene Lugar (Beta Kappa-Denison) 
Vice-chair of the board of trustees for the National March of Dimes (1990). Chair of Mothers March of Dimes. Received the March of Dimes Partners in Science Award. Established the Charlene S. Lugar Birth Defects Grant Fund and personally raised nearly $1 million for health education and medical services programs in Indianapolis.


Grace Lockhart McCarthy (Βeta Αlpha-Illinois) 
Three-time mayor of Pacifica, Calif. Civic leader. Recipient of Robert J. Koshiand Prize from the Peninsula Community Foundation.


Shirley Pugh McLoughlin (Xi-Toronto and Βeta Theta-British Columbia) 
Councillor for the Town of Comox, British Columbia. First woman leader of the Liberal Party in British Columbia (1981).


Allison Cink Rickels (Epsilon Theta-Northern Iowa)
CEO/executive director of Farmhouse Foundation, the first woman executive director of a men's fraternity educational foundation (since 2007).


Polly Cutler Rosenbaum (Βeta Gamma-Colorado) 
Arizona state representative continuously for 46 years (1949-94).


Bonnie McCulloch Scott (Delta Mu-Purdue) 
Lt. commander in the U.S. Navy, one of only 25 women out of more than 5,000 commanding officers in the Navy.


Emily Anne Tuttle Staples (Epsilon- Minnesota)

Lifelong public servant and volunteer. Elected Minnesota's first female Democratic-Farmer-Labor state senator in 1977. Served as Hennepin County Commissioner and an advisor to former Minnesota Governor Jesse Ventura.  Organized first Women's Institute for Social Change, first Minnesota Women's Political Caucus, and first Minnesota Women's Economic Roundtable.


Diane Steed (Gamma Delta-Kansas) 
President, Coalition for Vehicle Choice (since 1991). Administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) (1983-89). Founder of SUV Owners of America (SUVOA) and executive director of the Roadway Safety Foundation.


Nancy Harvey Steorts (Αlpha-Syracuse) 
President of Nancy Harvey Steorts International consulting firm. Former chairman of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission under President Ronald Reagan. Consultant to the director of the U.S. Office on Consumer Affairs at the White House and as special assistant for consumer affairs to the secretary of agriculture during the Nixon and Ford administrations. Author of 
Safety and You (1999) and Safe Living in a Dangerous World (2003).


Eileen Hurney Stevens (Αlpha Lambda-Alumna Initiate) 
Founded CHUCK (Committee to Halt Useless College Killings) to bring about awareness of hazing practices. One of 10 Women of the Year, 
New York Daily News (1993).


Adis Vila (Beta Lambda-Rollins) 
Assistant secretary of agriculture (1989). One of 14 White House fellows (1982-83). Named one of "The 100 Most Influential Hispanics in the United States," "10 Outstanding Young Women of America for 1983" and 
Good Housekeeping's "100 Women of Promise" (1985).


Bishop Catherine Maples Waynick (Εpsilon Ζeta-Central Michigan) 
One of only eight women bishops in the U.S. Episcopal Church.


Erin Weed (Zeta Alpha-Eastern Illinois) 
Author, speaker. Founder and executive director of Girls Fight Back, an education company dedicated to teaching women of all ages about personal safety and self-defense.


Frances E. Willard (Alpha Lambda-Alumna Initiate) 
The first woman represented among America's great leaders in Statuary Hall in the United States Capitol. President of Evanston College for Ladies. First dean of women at Northwestern University. Helped organize the Chicago Woman's Christian Temperance Union (1874). President and founder of the National Woman's Christian Temperance Union (1879). President of the World's Woman's Christian Temperance Union (1891). President of the National Council of Women. National president of Alpha Phi (1887).


MaryAnne Wilsbacher (Beta Iota-West Virginia)  
Assistant United States Trustee, Columbus, Ohio.


Maile Wilson (Theta Sigma-Southern Utah)
Elected as the first woman mayor of Cedar City, Utah (2013).

Lynn Robinson Woolsey (Sigma-Washington) 
Ten term member of the U.S. House of Representatives for the Sixth Congressional District in California (1992-2014).