Journalists and Writers

Catherine Anaya (Βeta Pi-USC) 
Two-time Emmy Award®-winning news anchor for CBS 5, KPHO in Phoenix, Ariz. Named "Anchor of the Year" in 2003 by the Arizona Associated Press Broadcasters Association. (See Spring and Summer 2001 


Patricia Cafferty Baldwin (Omega-Texas) 
Editor-in-chief of Private Clubs 
magazine. Former editor-in-chief of Golf for Women magazine. Editor and co-owner of the Austin Business Journal (1983-1985).


Barbara Blakemore (Gamma-DePauw) 
Former fiction editor of Redbook
. Former deputy editor of Family Circle. Former executive editor of McCall's. Past president of Women's Media Group. Recipient of Frances E. Willard Award (1982). Past president of QUEST, a Community for Lifelong Learning in Manhattan (2000-01).

Joan Steffend Brandmeier (Alpha Lambda-Alumna Initiate)

Joan has spent almost thirty years in the media, first as a national Emmy-winning news reporter/anchor at the NBC affiliate in Minneapolis-St Paul, and then as a top-rated host on HGTV. She has appeared on Oprah, Live with Regis and Kelly and the Today show. She has published two books, "... and she sparkled" in 2010 and "Peace In Peace Out" in 2012. Currently, she is involved in "Peace Begins With Me," a marketing campaign aimed at achieving inner peace in this chaotic and often negative world.

Jodi Brooks (Ιota-Wisconsin) 
National Emmy Award®-winning reporter for CBS 4 in Denver, Colo. Founder of A Safe Place for Newborns, a national program that assures the safety of unwanted babies. Inspiration behind the "Jodi Brooks Law," passed in nearly every state, which states that hospitals must accept unwanted babies, no questions asked. (See Spring 2001 
Quarterly.) Recipient of Order of Canada, one of the highest civilian awards in Canada, in 2013.


Christy Bulkeley (Οmicron-Missouri) 
Daily newspaper reporter, editor and publisher for Gannett Co., Inc. for two decades. One of the first women publishers for Gannett Co. As a newspaper executive, she was the first woman Gannett named chief executive of a daily newspaper (1974). National president of Women in Communications, Inc. (1975-76).


Elizabeth "Liz" Sutherland Carpenter (Omega-Texas) 
Press secretary and staff director to Lady Bird Johnson (1963-69).
 A founder of the National Women's Political Caucus and of ERAmerica. Recipient of Frances E. Willard Award (1980).


Lisa Colagrossi (Βeta Ιota-West Virginia) 
Awarded two Emmys® and nominated for five others as television anchor with WABC-TV in New York.


Alexa Conomos (Zeta Gamma-Santa Clara) 
News anchor for ABC's WFAA-TV in Dallas.


Michelle Fulcher (Βeta Gamma-Colorado) 
Producer of "Colorado Matters" on Colorado Public Radio. Part of the 
Post news team that won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news reporting for their coverage of the Columbine High School massacre of 1999 (see Fall 2000 Quarterly). Faculty advisor and instructor at the University of Colorado-Boulder.


Beth Gannon (Eta Eta-Seton Hall) 
Author of 
Crazy Fortunes.


Jennifer Gilbert (Βeta-Northwestern) 
Two-time Emmy Award®-winning television news anchor for FOX 45 in Baltimore, Md. Named "Best News Anchor" in 2002 by 
Baltimore Magazine.

Wendy Griffith (Beta Iota-West Virginia)
Co-host for The 700 Club and an anchor and Senior Reporter for the Christian Broadcasting Network based in Virginia Beach, Virginia. In addition to The 700 Club, Wendy co-anchors Christian World News, a weekly show that focuses on the triumphs and challenges of the global church.


Kristin Hoke (Theta-Michigan
News anchor for WPBF News in Palm Beach, Fla. Breast cancer survivor who allowed cameras to film the duration of her cancer experience and air the story as an inspiration to viewers.


Kim Kelleher (Iota-Wisconsin) 
Publisher of Time Magazine.  Former vice president and publisher of SELF magazine. Former vice president, publisher of Golf for Women, under which she became one of the youngest publishers ever in the Condé Nast family. Advertising Age's "Media Mavens" in 2003, "Industry Influencer" by Folio in 2005 and one ofAdvertising Age's "40 Under Forty" in 2007. (
See Fall 2007 Quarterly.)


Kate Longworth (Beta Epsilon-Arizona) 
Sports anchor-reporter, Comcast SportsNet in Northern California, the Bay Area. Former media relations director for Major League Baseball Arizona Fall League.


Donna Lipper Lucas (Βeta Pi-USC) 
Chief executive officer/president of NCG Porter Novelli. Press secretary to former Gov. George Deukmejian (California) and California press secretary for President George Bush's successful 1988 campaign. California media director for the 1992, 1996 Republican National Conventions.


Ann Martin (Sigma-Washington) 
Prime time news anchor and co-host of 
Woman 2 Woman, KCBS-TV, Los Angeles. Winner of three Emmy Awards®, two Golden Mike Awards and an award for best 30-minute newscast. Early in her career, first female to anchor the weekend news solo in Seattle, Wash. (See Spring 2001Quarterly). 

Linda Wallem  (Epsilon-Minnesota) 
Actress, writer and producer. In 2008, Wallem created the series Nurse Jackie, a half-hour drama about a "flawed" emergency room nurse in a New York City hospital. As an actress, she has appeared in movies like Sleepless in Seattle and shows like Seinfeld. 

Ruth Stafford Peale (Αlpha-Syracuse) 
Co-founder, publisher and chairman of the board of Guideposts, Inc. First woman president of the National Board of North American Missions. First woman chairman of the planning and program committee of the National Council of Churches (1966). National president of the Women's Board of Domestic Missions of the Reformed Church in America. Vice president of the Council of Churches of the City of New York.


Nan Robertson (Βeta-Northwestern) 
Pulitzer Prize-winning (1983) reporter and feature writer for the 
New York Times (1955-96). Winner of Page One award from the Newspaper Guild of New York (1983). Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Women's Media Foundation (1993). Author of Getting Better, Inside Alcoholics Anonymous (1988) and The Girls in the Balcony: Women, Men, and the New York Times(1992).


Ellen Soeteber (Beta-Northwestern) 
Editor of the 
St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 2001-05. Managing editor of the South Florida Sun-Sentinel (1994-2001)


Grace Trahan (Delta Delta-Oklahoma City)
Morning and noon anchor for RTV6 in Indianapolis. Has received numerous awards, including the Texas School Bell Award for Outstanding Educational Stories.

Barbara Brooks Wallace (Βeta Delta-UCLA) 
Award-winning author of children's books, including NLAPW Children's Book Award and International Youth Library "Best of the Best" for 
Claudia (2001) and William Allen White Children's Book Award for Peppermints in the Parlor (1983). Barbara has also had four books nominated for the Mystery Writers of America Edgar® award, and won two of these awards for The Twin in the Tavern and Sparrows in the Scullery. 


Janice Woods Windle (Omega-Texas) 
President of the El Paso Community Foundation. Author of 
Hill CountryThe True Women Cookbook, and best-seller True Women, which was published in eight different languages and became the basis for a CBS miniseries starring Angelina Jolie. Received the American Association of University Women's "Woman of the Year."